Vox Media

- PRIVATE:VOXMEDIA
For additional historical data visit
thinknum.com/demo

Glassdoor Profile Reviews

Request demo
# Ticker Symbol Entity Name As Of Date Review Url Logo Author Title Author Location Author Country Summary Description PROs CONs Recommends Value Recommends Description Outlook Value Outlook Description CEO Review Value CEO Review Description Helpful Count Rating: Overall Rating: Work/Life Balance Rating: Culture & Values Rating: Career Opportunities Rating: Comp & Benefits Rating: Senior Management Company Id Company URL Date Added Date Updated Ticker Sector Ticker Industry
1 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Feb 12th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee "It was OK" I worked at Vox Media full-time (More than a year) Everyone was really nice and the company had pretty good benefits The job was remote and it was hard to gain visibility because of it. 3.0 3.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 490488 Open Feb 14th, 2019 06:05PM Feb 14th, 2019 06:05PM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
2 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Jan 24th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee "It was fine. A good stepping stone." I worked at Vox Media (More than 3 years) In the early days, there was a good place to grow and learn. Now not so much. 3.0 490488 Open Jan 27th, 2019 09:18AM Jan 27th, 2019 09:18AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
3 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Jan 20th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "Great company going through a few issues" I have been working at Vox Media full-time (More than a year) all around great people who are ambitious and supportive, relaxed environment, flexible working hours / WFH, upward mobility is there, unlimited paid time off, snacks company is currently short-staffed as it experienced a lot of turnover; leadership is not doing much to address why employees may be unhappy.. change (in leadership, structure, everything) occurs so often and suddenly 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Approves of CEO 4.0 3.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 3.0 490488 Open Jan 21st, 2019 08:37AM Jan 21st, 2019 08:37AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
4 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Jan 13th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee "One of the better media companies" I have been working at Vox Media full-time (Less than a year) A focus on career development, diversity and inclusion, and creating meaningful work. Quite a few people have been here 4+ years either in the same dept with more senior titles or have moved into other areas of the company. This shows a commitment to talent employees and growing their careers. Additionally, great snacks and strong benefits coverage. Mental health visits are just $10! Senior leaders are also more diverse than most other media companies.Being a media company, the industry has forced many companies to go through change and we could do a better job communicating. However, I believe the heart and business is in the right place. They also hired a Chief Communications Officer to work through the communications challenges. Between all the different editorial networks and various other departments, it's hard to keep up with what everyone is doing and to meet people in other parts of the company. The monthly happy hours are nice but can be awkward because people will talk to who they know. May be there can be more structured ways that encourage people to get to know each other? 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 5.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 490488 Open Jan 14th, 2019 08:53AM Jan 14th, 2019 08:53AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
5 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Jan 4th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee "What a shame! Zero communication and totally inexperienced and chaotic leadership." I have been working at Vox Media full-time Some talented and passionate employeesSnacksDecent office space Awful communication internallyMany execs, managers, and HR with very little professional or corporate experience or knowledgechaotic work environment and non-transparent/fake culture -1.0 Doesn't Recommend -1.0 Negative Outlook -1.0 Disapproves of CEO 2.0 3.0 2.0 2.0 3.0 1.0 490488 Open Jan 5th, 2019 09:20AM Jan 5th, 2019 09:20AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
6 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Dec 16th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee "The best place" I have been working at Vox Media full-time There is no place like Vox Media. The people are smart and motivated, the work is exciting, leadership is inspiring. If you want collaboration and opportunity, work here. Can't think of anything. It's truly great! 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 490488 Open Dec 17th, 2018 12:10PM Dec 17th, 2018 12:10PM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
7 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Dec 4th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "Terrible leadership" I worked at Vox Media full-time (More than a year) There are a lot of great people at the company and the work is often fun. Management is incredibly poor. Change is constant in the media industry, but Vox Media takes that up five notches. Plans and goals change nearly weekly. There are "change of direction" meetings about every month. Layoffs are frequent, some in big batches and some one off. Goals are rarely communicated, jobs are often changed, and management is largely heartless. -1.0 Doesn't Recommend -1.0 Negative Outlook -1.0 Disapproves of CEO 2.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 2.0 3.0 1.0 490488 Open Dec 5th, 2018 11:35AM Dec 5th, 2018 11:35AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
8 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Oct 24th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Editorial Operations Coordinator New York, NY USA "Too much ambiguity, do not work here!" I worked at Vox Media full-time (Less than a year) Office snacks. A large variety of treats and beverages.Benefits & Unlimited PTO. Great coverage and the option to take lots of time is amazing. Leadership. The majorty of them speak to people like they are animals.Retaliatory environment. I complained about the way I was treated. I knew it was a risk but it was the right thing to do. Shortly thereafter things became very unpleasant. Ultimately leading to my demise. The day that it unfolded, I was read "you're no longer needed" speech from a computer screen. And was told I could followup on a phone call the following week. A phone call? So insulting!Benefits. While they boast about the coverage, they are very quick to take it away. I was coldly let go two days before they expired. -1.0 Doesn't Recommend -1.0 Negative Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 2.0 3.0 1.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 490488 Open Oct 25th, 2018 09:20AM Oct 25th, 2018 09:20AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
9 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Oct 18th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee Washington, DC USA "Friendly Staff" I worked at Vox Media full-time (More than a year) Fully stocked kitchen was awesome! But would have been nice if there were more avocados. 3.0 2.0 2.0 4.0 3.0 490488 Open Oct 19th, 2018 08:36AM Oct 19th, 2018 08:36AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods
10 private:voxmedia https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=490488 Oct 17th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee "Best Creative and Editorial Teams BUT Dysfunctional Business Side" I worked at Vox Media full-time (More than a year) -Incredibly talented and dedicated journalists—the best in the business-Fantastic brands-Creative teams are collaborative and willing to take risks-Culture of innovation—willing to take risks -Lack of clarity on the business side regarding ownership and priorities-Many managers are inexperienced and lack basic leadership skills (wrong people in roles)-Late to make staffing changes when a change is clearly necessary-Nepotism run amok -1.0 Doesn't Recommend -1.0 Negative Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 3.0 3.0 3.0 3.0 3.0 3.0 490488 Open Oct 18th, 2018 08:04AM Oct 18th, 2018 08:04AM Consumer Goods Personal Goods

Showing a preview of 109 rows

Get a demo to see more examples from the Glassdoor Profile Reviews dataset.