BK

Barnes & Noble

- NYSE:BKS
Last Updated 2024-03-01

Indeed Profile Reviews

Track Barnes & Noble reviews on Indeed to uncover insights on employee sentiment
Ticker Symbol Entity Name As Of Date Review Url Logo Company URL Company Author Title Author Location Author Country Summary Description PROs CONs Helpful Count Not Helpful Count Rating: Overall Rating: Work/Life Balance Rating: Culture & Values Rating: Career Opportunities Rating: Comp & Benefits Rating: Senior Management Date Added Date Updated Company Name Sector Industry
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 23rd, 2024 05:26PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Chicago, IL Easy-Going Work with Strange Management The work here was really easy but the management was always down our backs about selling memberships, staying constantly moving, etc. It could have been an easier job with a different manager. 0.0 0.0 4.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 24th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 24th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 22nd, 2024 08:43PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Glendale, CO general vibe is great but corporate is tiring Barnes and Noble is great part time work but its hard to make a living of the salary. Because B&N isn't technically in Denver proper, they can pay $2 below Denver minimum wage even though less than half a mile in any direction you would be back in Denver. Just something to consider but this is definitely the highest paying location in the Denver metro area. Even so, it's hard to survive on this income alone. Most of my coworkers were either college students and didn't need a large source of income or they were living at home with parents to save money or working multiple jobs to make ends meet. the higher up positions seemed to be living well on the salary but personally I thought they were underpaid for the sheer amount of work they have to do (including being available during their off hours). This job can be tiring. You are constantly on your feet. Workers have to shelve books as soon as they are received which takes you all over the store. In between that, you have to answer phone calls, assist customers in the store and clean up the piles of random books people leave around. Also, like any retail job, you also have mental strain to deal due to irrational, angry and rude customers (i.e. one woman wanted to file a complaint to corporate because we didn't sell and out of print book from the 80's... another customer was upset we didn't sell rolls of toilet paper at the bookstore). Not every customer is bad but even drips of water can wear away at a stone. Honestly, if the pay isn't a make or break deal and you invest in good shoes, the job was simple and enjoyable; especially as someone who loves books. My coworkers were friendly and helpful. The management can get a little intense about signing people up for free rewards or the paid membership probably because corporate is intense about it. The 50% discount on books is awesome and working here is great way to keep plugged into the book world. I learned a lot working here and enjoyed my time immensely. Even annoying customers have just become weird anecdotes I can share instead of them being mind sucks. I probably would have kept working here longer but it just didn't make sense financially. It's a good job though, even if just to carry you through a career transition. 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 22nd, 2024 01:17AM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Baton Rouge, LA Not Bad It was a good work environment. The management was okay, but the location was really nice. The only thing I would change is the pay. Overall not great but also not horrible. 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 21st, 2024 02:45AM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Omaha, NE Perfect entry level job Minimum wage pay, but perfect for entry level employee looking to get customer service experience. They’ll work you for most of your hours, which is nice 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 21st, 2024 11:20PM Feb 21st, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 20th, 2024 08:30PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Receiver Oklahoma City, OK Fun Great place to work at. The requirements were low and the stress was also low. I had a lot of free time and the only compliant is that I didn’t have a larger hourly rate. 0.0 0.0 5.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 20th, 2024 06:12PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Westlake, OH Overall Good Fun place to work, but virtually no room to grow. Management is somewhat helpful, but it's more of a numbers game than anything else. The cafe could use some work as well. 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 20th, 2024 05:27PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Bel Air, MD Normal retail experience Relatively average retail experience. Finding books for people had its moments. More often than not, was put on the register. That will suck the soul right out of your body. 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Feb 22nd, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 20th, 2024 02:50PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Connecticut Work Indie Instead Everything was perfect until they decided to move our location and expand. They replaced our manager with someone so awful most of the team quit within two months. 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 20th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 19th, 2024 07:26PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Durham, NC Amazing An amazing place to work. I never had a bad customer. Everyone in there is a book lover and happy to be in the building with you. I was able to cross train as well in the cafe. 0.0 0.0 5.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 19th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 19th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers
nyse:bks https://www.indeed.com/cmp/barnes-&-noble/reviews Feb 19th, 2024 03:35PM Open Open Open Barnes & Noble Bookseller Huntersville, NC Easy & Fun for book lovers Great part time job and great discount for book lovers. Manager was supportive and helpful. Must be willing to help out in all areas of the store including cafe. 0.0 0.0 5.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 19th, 2024 11:20PM Feb 19th, 2024 11:20PM Barnes & Noble Consumer Services General Retailers

Request a demo to view additional historical data, and much more.

Make fast
queries

No longer rely on engineers to access data; build and share queries with intuitive tools, and derive insights in real time.

Bookmark queries with your team

Save and share custom queries using a private bookmarking feature, accessible to your whole team.

Be first to know with alerts

Scan data points across millions of companies and receive emails when relevant metrics cross critical thresholds.

Visualize data for quick insights

Create custom keyword-based word clouds, charts, and advanced visualizations to quickly analyze the data.

Map competitor locations

Analyze competitor presence and growth over time by overlaying store locations with the Nearby Competitor feature.

Add widgets to your dashboards

Access existing maps, charts, word clouds, and other visualizations to understand your data quickly. Or build custom widgets to view data just the way you want it.