NR

Nerdy

- NYSE:NRDY
Last Updated 2024-03-04

Indeed Profile Reviews

Track Nerdy reviews on Indeed to uncover insights on employee sentiment
Ticker Symbol Entity Name As Of Date Review Url Logo Company URL Company Author Title Author Location Author Country Summary Description PROs CONs Helpful Count Not Helpful Count Rating: Overall Rating: Work/Life Balance Rating: Culture & Values Rating: Career Opportunities Rating: Comp & Benefits Rating: Senior Management Date Added Date Updated Company Name Sector Industry
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 28th, 2024 08:24PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Fort Worth, TX Lousy even for a tutoring gig It was alright at first when this was an in-person tutoring service, but when it became strictly online the compensation dropped and interaction with management went out the window. To top it off they just let tutors know they wouldn't be renewing their contract, no explanation provided nor any opportunity for discussion. Between this and the exorbitant amounts they collect off of tutoring packages, it seems like the corporate higher ups just care about money. The students/clients Rip off remuneration, including no compensation for prep time, hands-off management that goes out of its way to be inaccessible when tutors need to communicate, unsteady work and precarious employment with the way they ditch contracts nily-wily. 0.0 0.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 Feb 29th, 2024 11:32PM Feb 29th, 2024 11:32PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 27th, 2024 10:20PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote Easy side gig Easy way to make money as a side job and the benefit of an open schedule is great. The opportunities are great but it is hard just waiting for an opportunity that is out of your control. 0.0 0.0 4.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 28th, 2024 11:33PM Feb 28th, 2024 11:33PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 21st, 2024 11:54PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote You are just a cog Varsity does hold up exactly to what they say, and not an inch more. They provide a platform for tutoring, and host a board to sign up to be assigned postings, but nothing more. No development, no contact with anybody else in the company, just log on and do your work. Additionally, the pay is not that great ($15/hr is what they told me was always their starting point) when you consider how much tutors can charge when working independently and the prices they charge customers. It is good for side gig work though, off and on spending cash. 0.0 0.0 2.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 21st, 2024 11:29PM Feb 21st, 2024 11:29PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 20th, 2024 02:00AM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote flexible hours but very underpaid Varsity Tutors is a company that offers tutoring online, connecting students to qualified professionals anywhere in the country. As an employee, working with Varsity Tutors can be great for someone who needs flexible hours and remote work. You can choose how many students to take on and schedule them at your leisure. If you're looking to make a little extra income on the side, this may be a great job option. As your main job though, it does not pay enough. Varsity Tutors pays its tutors approximately 20% of what it makes off the student per hour. They will not compensate you for any time you put into preparing for tutoring a student or for any books/materials required to purchase to teach a student. In addition, their online teaching platform is unique in the many features it offers its students, but it still needs some improvements. I've had many difficulties connecting with students and have lost session time trying to get the program working correctly. Overall, I'd recommend Varsity Tutors as a good company to work at, but only if looking for supplemental income. flexibility, unique virtual teaching interface not enough payment for your work, glitchy program 0.0 0.0 3.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 Feb 20th, 2024 11:30PM Feb 20th, 2024 11:30PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 19th, 2024 03:54AM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote All on your own They didn't offer support or training on how to be a good tutor. Basically you tell them which subjects you want to tutor, they give you a test, and then they offer students looking for help in those subjects. I did not do it for very long. The students were not invested and did not really want to learn the subject material. They were just desperate to improve their grades, and I felt pressured by them. flexible hours no employee support, students didn't want to learn 0.0 0.0 2.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 21st, 2024 11:29PM Feb 21st, 2024 11:29PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 19th, 2024 02:41AM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote Convenient but frustrating Their system is very glitchy and has led to me tutoring hours worth for free. I don't think any real people read my actual email. It left a very sour taste in my mouth. Moreover, they lowered calculus wages. Students can be entitled to the answer, but more often than not it's a fantastic experience working with them. Just make sure to screenshot any long tutoring sessions, so you don't (long story short) tutor hours for free. Chat-only tutoring for days when I don't feel very social Zero benefits and no job security 0.0 0.0 3.0 5.0 3.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 Feb 19th, 2024 11:28PM Feb 19th, 2024 11:28PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 18th, 2024 08:25PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Austin, TX I thrive in this environment because it cuts down on commuting and traversing from class to class times. What is the best part of working at the company? I find that working at Varsity Tutors is a good employer because of the flexibility and rewarding nature of helping students achieve their goals. What is the most stressful part about working at the company? when you overwhelm yourself with more work than you can handle. What is the work environment and culture like at the company? The supportive and nurturing attitude of all employed at VT. What is a typical day like for you at the company? Being present, be engaged and be dynamic. 0.0 0.0 5.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 19th, 2024 11:28PM Feb 19th, 2024 11:28PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 16th, 2024 04:14AM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Texas Horrendous Management Management is very hands off and unresponsive if you need any help and then suddenly one day you'll get a nasty email that your contract will not be renewed for no reason and with no way to reply. The pay of $15 is way below the industry standard for tutoring and requires both students and tutors to become proficient with their online platform. I do not recommend working here. The students, that is all. Everything I mentioned above. 0.0 0.0 1.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 Feb 16th, 2024 11:29PM Feb 16th, 2024 11:29PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 9th, 2024 07:30PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Sales Representative Remote Be very aware!!!! I was so excited to get an offer to work for Varsity Tutors and gave it all I had. The trainers told me on several occasions what a fantastic job I was doing. I was NOT cut after the initial 5 weeks of training and one trainer told me I just needed 2 or 3 more weeks of training. This was right before Christmas. The fired me Jan 5th. Why did they let me go through the entire holiday when they knew they were going to let several of us go. I was completely shocked. I bought office furniture etc… for my home office. My trainers assured me I was doing fine and then BAM! No notice or warning. They put me in a horrible bind. I’ve never been treated so unprofessionally in my life! They lied right to my face. What a huge disappointment this company has been for me. Can’t think of any Trainers give false hope/ they LIE! 0.0 0.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 Feb 12th, 2024 11:29PM Feb 12th, 2024 11:29PM Nerdy
nyse:nrdy https://www.indeed.com/cmp/varsity-tutors/reviews Feb 11th, 2024 07:09PM Open Open Open Varsity Tutors Tutor Remote With a little prep, most sessions are fun and worthwhile. What is the best part of working at the company? Dependable Nice clients Good working equipment What is the most stressful part about working at the company? No Shows. (Students) It’s so annoying to prepare and get ready and then have a No Show What is the work environment and culture like at the company? Good! Problems are quickly handled, equipment is good, pay is always on time! What is a typical day like for you at the company? Sign in about 15 mins early Get ready to tutor ( plans and papers) Wait Begin Kids are usually good 0.0 0.0 4.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Feb 11th, 2024 11:30PM Feb 11th, 2024 11:30PM Nerdy

Request a demo to view additional historical data, and much more.

Make fast
queries

No longer rely on engineers to access data; build and share queries with intuitive tools, and derive insights in real time.

Bookmark queries with your team

Save and share custom queries using a private bookmarking feature, accessible to your whole team.

Be first to know with alerts

Scan data points across millions of companies and receive emails when relevant metrics cross critical thresholds.

Visualize data for quick insights

Create custom keyword-based word clouds, charts, and advanced visualizations to quickly analyze the data.

Map competitor locations

Analyze competitor presence and growth over time by overlaying store locations with the Nearby Competitor feature.

Add widgets to your dashboards

Access existing maps, charts, word clouds, and other visualizations to understand your data quickly. Or build custom widgets to view data just the way you want it.