SQ

Squarespace

- PRIVATE:SQUARESPACE
For additional historical data visit
thinknum.com/demo

Glassdoor Profile Reviews Data

Request demo
# Ticker Symbol Entity Name As Of Date Review Url Logo Author Title Author Location Author Country Summary Description PROs CONs Recommends Value Recommends Description Outlook Value Outlook Description CEO Review Value CEO Review Description Helpful Count Rating: Overall Rating: Work/Life Balance Rating: Culture & Values Rating: Career Opportunities Rating: Comp & Benefits Rating: Senior Management Company Id Company URL Date Added Date Updated Ticker Sector Ticker Industry
1 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Nov 16th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee Product Designer I have been working at Squarespace full-time I've worked at several well-oiled software companies and I find Squarespace to be my favorite so far. The amount of autonomy, the mission, and my passionate teammates make it my favorite place. The autonomy requires constant cycles of self-reflection and experimentation. If you require step-by-step guidance on how to be effective and execute — this place is not for you. 3.0 5.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 466343 Open Mar 15th, 2019 10:08AM Mar 15th, 2019 10:08AM Technology Software & Computer Services
2 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Mar 13th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Community Manager New York, NY USA "Great place to work" I have been working at Squarespace full-time (More than 5 years) Awesome perks, great people, swanky office, chance for growth and autonomy. A recent dedication to ERGs and D&I has been impressive to see. Growth within the company varies between departments. Customer Operations has some ceilings for growth but there are opportunities to move between departments, depending on skills 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 466343 Open Mar 14th, 2019 08:15AM Mar 14th, 2019 08:15AM Technology Software & Computer Services
3 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Feb 26th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "Great place to work, but a bit cliquey" I have been working at Squarespace full-time (Less than a year) Squarespace is a great place to work, lots of interesting projects, great benefits, and many really nice people. Management (higher ups) tend to act somewhat like a dictatorship and sometimes teams/groups of people are a bit cliquey and not very inclusive. 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 0.0 No opinion of CEO 3.0 5.0 4.0 4.0 5.0 3.0 466343 Open Feb 27th, 2019 07:33AM Feb 27th, 2019 07:33AM Technology Software & Computer Services
4 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Feb 26th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Customer Operations Advisor In Portland, OR Portland, OR USA "Customer Care needs to unionize" I worked at Squarespace full-time (More than a year) Bike-friendly, decent benefits, great maternity/paternity leave, coworkers No bonuses in Customer Care, Team Leads who manage the Customer Care Advisors don't know the product, minimal stock options in Customer Operations, extremely high turnover rate for Advisors -1.0 Doesn't Recommend 0.0 Neutral Outlook 0.0 No opinion of CEO 2.0 2.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 466343 Open Feb 27th, 2019 07:33AM Feb 27th, 2019 07:33AM Technology Software & Computer Services
5 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Feb 11th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "Very pleasant company, with so much unrealized potential" I worked at Squarespace full-time (More than a year) Overall, I genuinely enjoyed my time at Squarespace. I have recommended the company to several friends. There were very few people I didn’t genuinely enjoy working with.Work-life balance was strong, and the office was super convenient - right near 8 subway lines, a PATH station, and even the Henry Hudson greenway. You gotta live with the endless honking on Friday nights, though. - Culture of tolerating and ignoring broken things (in product, culture, tools & physical workplace) can discourage initiative-taking. Far too many examples to name here. It’s sad that I can’t think of a single concrete improvement during my time at Squarespace in response to employee feedback.- Top-down management approach makes ownership harder. Things that should be easy and fast become high-friction and frustrating when ownership is often opaque, and people are often afraid to make even small decisions without feeling the need to consult top leadership. Issues that were trivial to unblock in other companies I’ve worked at - even 20X larger ones - were surprisingly time-consuming and emotionally draining at Squarespace.- Weak stock packages and zero bonuses disincentive hard work and going the extra mile. These can contribute to Squarespace having more of a disengaged “renter” culture, instead of an “owner” culture.- Chronic cultural disposition towards confounding surface-level visual aesthetics (how things look) vs. actual good design (how things work). As an example, look at the design of Squarespace’s physical office space. It may appear sexy in photoshoots, but it’s physically uncomfortable, dark, rigid, inefficient, and often just plain frustrating to work in more ways than I could count. Employees’ perspectives and feelings were not solicited or considered in the design that I know of, nor did management show evidence of seeking to understand or fix the problems after it was built. Consideration for inclusive design needs in the office was also curiously lacking, and in a number of cases, aesthetics appear to have been prioritized over employee health and safety (presumably unintentionally, but the outcome is unchanged). 1.0 Recommends 0.0 Neutral Outlook -1.0 Disapproves of CEO 1.0 3.0 4.0 2.0 3.0 2.0 2.0 466343 Open Feb 14th, 2019 06:01PM Feb 14th, 2019 06:01PM Technology Software & Computer Services
6 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Feb 5th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "Best Work Environment for Innovation!" I have been working at Squarespace full-time (Less than a year) - Collaborative environment, no red-tape anywhere- Friendliest co-workers, so easy to speak to everyone at the company- Thoughtfulness in every detail from the interview process to the onboarding experience!- Innovation everywhere, so excited to see where we go next - Nothing to think of yet! 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 466343 Open Feb 7th, 2019 05:37AM Feb 7th, 2019 05:37AM Technology Software & Computer Services
7 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Feb 5th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Current Employee - Technical Recruiter New York, NY USA "Best Place I've Ever Worked" I have been working at Squarespace full-time (Less than a year) -Company is led by Anthony Casalena (Founder, CEO, 1st Engineer)-He is unwilling to compromise on quality of product-Makes his decisions always with Customer, Product & Technology in top-of-mind-Heavy emphasis on diversity recruiting and internal diversity groups & programs-Big investments in our new Learning & Development programs: like Speaker Series, leadership coaching and a wide variety of skills / technology training!-Extremely healthy growth rate (headcount-wise and financially)-Great internal controls and steady maturation in policies and procedures-Free-catered lunch EVERYDAY + dog friendly office-Beautiful office + Roofdeck -Elevator situation: As we are growing pretty rapidly in our NYC headquarters, I hope we start adding more elevators! 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 466343 Open Feb 6th, 2019 06:53AM Feb 6th, 2019 06:53AM Technology Software & Computer Services
8 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Jan 21st, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Anonymous Employee New York, NY USA "People keep changing" I worked at Squarespace full-time (Less than a year) very nice company benefits, have some great talent there. must agree with their ideals, not open to new ideas -1.0 Doesn't Recommend 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 2.0 4.0 2.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 466343 Open Jan 22nd, 2019 08:39AM Jan 22nd, 2019 08:39AM Technology Software & Computer Services
9 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Jan 7th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Customer Care Advisor Portland, OR USA "Customer Care Advisor position" I worked at Squarespace full-time (More than a year) It's a great company with great benefits that attracts great workers. The platform is amazing and I really liked working there. Sometimes cliquey workers. Mostly just dealing with customers who are upset at you for something you can't control. If you have thick skin this place could work for you. No real upward movement. Very few promotion options. 1.0 Recommends 1.0 Positive Outlook 1.0 Approves of CEO 4.0 4.0 4.0 1.0 4.0 3.0 466343 Open Jan 8th, 2019 09:14AM Jan 8th, 2019 09:14AM Technology Software & Computer Services
10 private:squarespace https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=466343 Dec 11th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open Former Employee - Customer Operations Specialist New York, NY USA "Customer Operations Specialists: Look Elsewhere" I worked at Squarespace full-time (More than a year) -Free food and happy hours-Incredible co-workers within the advisor pool-Amazing benefits package - New policy rollouts, internal and customer-facing, occur without warning.- Culture building has been reduced to specialty events that often advisors are unable to attend due to being in the queue.- Roll back of benefits, including reducing WFH to a strict minimum of 2 times per month.- Advisors are not looked to for actual feedback on policy or support systems. There is the feeling of being listened to, but no follow through by leadership.- Wildly underpaid for the amount of expertise and brand ambassadorship required.- Advisors are seen solely through lens of metrics.- Zero transparency- No room for career development or growth. -1.0 Doesn't Recommend -1.0 Negative Outlook 0.0 No opinion of CEO 1.0 1.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 466343 Open Dec 12th, 2018 10:40AM Dec 12th, 2018 10:40AM Technology Software & Computer Services

Showing a preview of 173 rows

Get a demo to see more examples from the Glassdoor Profile Reviews dataset.