ME

MeetMe

- NASDAQ:MEET
Last Updated 2024-04-19

Glassdoor Profile Reviews Data

Track MeetMe reviews on Glassdoor to uncover insights on employee sentiment
Ticker Symbol Entity Name As Of Date Review Url Logo Company Author Title Author Location Author Country Summary Description PROs CONs Recommends Value Recommends Description Outlook Value Outlook Description CEO Review Value CEO Review Description Helpful Count Rating: Overall Rating: Work/Life Balance Rating: Culture & Values Rating: Career Opportunities Rating: Comp & Benefits Rating: Senior Management Rating: Diversity & Inclusion Company Id Company URL Advice to Management Not Helpful Count Employer Responses Employer Status Is featured? Is current job? Job Ending Year Length of Employment Company Website Company Industry Id Company Sector Id Date Added Date Updated Company Name Sector Industry
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 May 9th, 2019 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe Current Employee - Anonymous New Hope, PA Best company I have worked at in my career I have been working at MeetMe full-time for more than 4 years This is by far the best company I have worked at. Upper management is fair, result driven and very open to new ideas. In the 3 years I have been here, I feel it has been a very rewarding experience, in terms of career growth and the sense of accomplishment of the kind of work I got to do here. And I don't see any toxicity in the culture here that I have seen at the companies I have worked at prior to MeetMe. I don't understand... The job here can be demanding at times, though reasonable at most times. 0.0 5.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 610241 Open No No May 10th, 2019 04:57AM May 10th, 2019 04:57AM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Mar 14th, 2018 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe Member Service Representative New Hope, PA The worst job in Technology Paid holidays Birthday off Free food First of all, you are unlikely to stay at this job for more than 3 years. The Members Services Department is not treated with the same respect as other departments within the company. There is a total disconnect with the rest of the company. There is harassment, bullying by the male management and the HR department overlooks it. It is really not a good place to work. Don’t even get comfy on your desk because they switch desks every couple of months so that you really don’t feel welcome. Management has no intention on keeping people too long as they often become a threat to their jobs. I was told repeatedly in private by a male manager that I was the best employee, that I was doing a great job and I was very “easy to work with” and I was even told that I was the highest paid employee in members services (however, I was told not to mention it to other employees) but as soon as I showed interest in advancement and started having concerns about conflicting answers given in training, the management became very nit-picky and my work wasn’t “meeting expectation” out of a sudden. The work is awful, repetitive, graphic and somewhat traumatizing. You will never be able to unsee that stuff yet, the company doesn’t prepare you for the horrible things you are about to deal with. Someone with good morals will be left struggling to make split of second decisions on possible life-threatening situations in this place where quantity is rewarded and quality customer service discouraged. Supervisors keep giving conflicting answers and they punish you for asking too many questions or asking coworkers for help. Some people are kept at the same task for months until they “get” the material while management can’t never agree on anything so you basically realize you will just have to make decisions based on the opinion of whoever supervisor is on at the moment and quickly move on to the next inquiry. Other people get an overwhelming amount of tasks to complete at an unreasonable amount of time and gets punished by not reaching monthly goals. I was on the end of both situations, then I had a non-threatening medical issue and requested they accommodate me. Instead, the management kept increasing the goals unreasonably until I was terminated. People that say yes to work overtime will be in the supervisor’s good graces until they say no once, then they will be punished by not being asked ever again. You probably won’t get to enjoy many of the company activities and events because member services schedule is different from the rest of the company. On snow days, the member service department which starts at 8AM will often get an email or message from a supervisor telling them its ok to work from home when they already drove half way to work. Then they will drive half way back home and will need to work late to “pay” the time they were in transit. This is because the rest of the company only starts at 9AM they are the only ones that matter. Member Services will never be part of the team, unless not until this management is still there. -1.0 NEGATIVE -1.0 DISAPPROVE 3.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 610241 Open The Member Services Department needs to be investigated! 0.0 [] REGULAR No No 2.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jul 20th, 2019 03:59PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Jul 9th, 2017 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe don't work here good perks, free food, a decent amount of overtime available This company proposes that they care about their employees but if you aren't a salaried employee you are just another number. You have to look at explicit material for the majority of the day and deal with terrible clientele. The management is nit picky and will write you up or counsel you for the smallest details, you're given an hourly quota for processing reports which continues to increase. -1.0 NEGATIVE -1.0 NEGATIVE 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 2.0 2.0 0.0 610241 Open 0.0 [] No No 0.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=918739 Apr 5th, 2017 12:00AM Open Open if(we) QA Engineer San Francisco, CA QA department Good food, bad management and nothing else! Hopefully after merging will change something? -1.0 NEGATIVE -1.0 NEGATIVE 0.0 NO_OPINION 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 0.0 918739 Open A lot of managers, too much 0.0 [] No No 1.0 Jul 20th, 2019 03:59PM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Feb 15th, 2017 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe Member Service Representative New Hope, PA Stay away from Member Services Free drinks, food and good benefits Terrible Management, toxic work environment, extremely stressful tasks -1.0 NEGATIVE -1.0 DISAPPROVE 4.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 0.0 610241 Open My advice goes straight to CEO Geoff Cook - Even though I heard you are aware of the wrong doings, I rather believe you are not, so I ask you to please, please, watch closely your managers and supervisors at the member services department. Contact former employees, talk to current ones, listen to them. It's humiliating what we have to go through in that department. There are so many people out there who have been harassed, bullied and discriminated that I would not be surprised that one of these days you will face a lawsuit. 0.0 [] REGULAR No No 1.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Feb 12th, 2017 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe Member Service Representative New Hope, PA Member Services isn't treated with the same respect as the rest of the company. -Free snacks -Free lunches -Meet cool coworkers -Great benefits / time off / stock options -Cool office located in New Hope -Listen to Spotify or podcasts all day I can only share the experiences of someone who worked within the Member Services department. I make this distinction because it is seemingly handled in a completely different way than the rest of the company. The schedules are different than the rest of the company, which makes for a serious disconnect with the way different departments interact. For example: Member Services starts at 8am (SHARP.), while the rest of the company starts around 9, or a bit later. This would not be an issue, except for the multitude of times that we've been hit with snow storms, causing MeetMe employees to work from home. Many times, the "work from home" call has been made just shy of 8am, leaving Member Services people roughing it to work in snowy or icy conditions. This is completely unsafe and ridiculous, and comes off like a strange test of how much you care about your work and the company. Spoiler alert: I'm not risking my life to come to work. I once voiced my confusion with this policy while my supervisor joked about how he was sliding into oncoming traffic during his commute. This man had recently become a father. While the rest of the company is able to make a "work from home" call on their own by simply contacting their respective manager, Member Services is unable to make that personal call. There is, however, the option to use your personal time to take the day off, but this was always met with overt passive aggression from Member Services management. The work itself of Member Services is pretty rough, but show enough initiative, and you'll be transferred from deleting photos of stranger's genitals to writing police reports about the aforementioned genitals. This transfer does not come with a pay raise, though, so why assert yourself? I was performing upwards of a dozen tasks at one point, while others were still centered only on the two or three upon which they were originally trained. What kind of message does that send? Why would I assert myself, only to receive more difficult work without any sort of recognition in compensation? I spent many long nights pondering this fact, and I would not implore you to do the same. There is a void, and it will accept you into it. There is absolutely no effort to counsel the people of Member Services regarding the disgusting and profane nature of the content at hand. Recently, there have been a few articles written about the longterm effects of content moderators, with some of them citing PTSD and other forms of anxiety, as a result of the exposure to truly damaging imagery. They *rank* you among the others working within Member Services, which is completely asinine, given the aforementioned imbalance of work. Why are we competing? Aren't we supposed to be working together, as a team? How any manager could think that this would breed a positive work environment is beyond me. Bear in mind that you may also take on the work of your supervisors - again without any additional compensation. According to their own metrics, the only possible responses were "below expectations" and "meets expectations," which is seemingly out of some sort of dystopian literature. By their own definitions, it is literally impossible to exceed their expectations. This became a meme among Member Services workers. The management of Member Services overtly tells its workers *not* to help each other, lest we give each other incorrect advice. Think about that one. They don't want you to help each other. The cut-off nature of Member Services from the rest of the company seems to be by design, as if to say "if we aren't paying any attention to their existence, then we also don't have to recognize the insane amount of crimes we are facilitating by our users on a daily basis." Out of sight, entirely crammed into a single room on the far side of the building, out of mind. Communication with supervisors and managers is a complete nightmare. Speak up, and no matter how salient your point, you'll be made to feel ungrateful for being awash in a sea of free Red Bull and candy. I routinely did overtime work, often coming in on days off to help with overflow from other departments, but alas, I was ultimately terminated for my "performance." Bear in mind that I was consistently in the top echelon of the previously mentioned rankings, but when productivity slipped in one task (among the dozen) in one month, that was it for me. This singular task involved direct email customer service with members of the site: perhaps a place where you would *want* your workers to give a little more attention to each individual user closer attention, rather than blazing through all of them with automated responses. Bear in mind that I was also correcting the slapdash work of my peers, who were rewarded for their scorched earth tactics. So, I was told that my average emails per hour was too low in one month, fine. The next month, I purposely paid little attention to the needs of any individual user and just blasted through as quickly as possible, hitting an insanely high number of emails that I had never reached before. And wouldn't you believe it: I was someone who "meets expectations." The following month, I returned to a number that was above their expectations. However, because it wasn't up to the previous, insanely inflated month, I was terminated. Again, bear in mind that this was a singular task, among about a dozen, that was performed 6-7 hours per MONTH. The rest of my work was exemplary. I was among the highest paid in the department, if only by virtue of the amount of time I had stayed, up for a raise in about a month, and a large portion of my stock options were about to vest. I can only imagine the justification for my termination as such - they could hire someone else to do what I was doing, for way less. This is merely a small slice of the issues with Member Services at MeetMe, seriously. If you're on the fence, look elsewhere. What is truly saddening is that the day they terminated me, the site and app became less safe. -1.0 NEGATIVE 0.0 NEUTRAL 0.0 NO_OPINION 4.0 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0 3.0 0.0 610241 Open Rein in the men running Member Services. Things are not OK in that department. 0.0 [] REGULAR No No 4.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=918739 Jan 25th, 2017 12:00AM Open Open if(we) Engineer San Francisco, CA not sure where they're going. very intelligent developers, excellent pay and benefits, opportunities to try new things and switch teams if there is an area more interesting to you, growth encouragement, weekly happy hours, daily catered meals, ceo truly cares for employees strange product, very confused about where they're going, quick decision making that sometimes results in disaster for employees, some inexperienced executives, outdated site that they don't seem to want to fix, claims of transparency but executives don't really deliver full story/intentions -1.0 NEGATIVE -1.0 NEGATIVE 1.0 APPROVE 1.0 3.0 5.0 2.0 5.0 5.0 2.0 0.0 918739 Open figure out what you're doing and communicate it clearly. 0.0 [] REGULAR No No 0.0 Jul 20th, 2019 03:59PM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Dec 7th, 2016 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe In a dark box It's a job that was better before the acquisition Doesn't feel like there's an actual path for growth with regards to revenue generation Management doesn't manage or seem to have a concept of managing Tools aren't in place for success, the ones that are aren't flexible enough Feels like there's a dark box enclosure for those acquired from SKOUT - does not feel like 'one team' Communication is very bad -1.0 NEGATIVE 1.0 POSITIVE 0.0 NO_OPINION 0.0 2.0 4.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 0.0 610241 Open Work on managing and the 'one team' concept 0.0 [] No Yes 0.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=610241 Dec 6th, 2016 12:00AM Open Open MeetMe Data Analyst New Hope, PA Data Analyst Bright, helpful and motivated people to work with Comfortable and fun office and environment Pantry full of free food, fridge full of free drinks, game room and beer We are given two days break from work every quarter to work on any project They do a great job at eliminating toxic management I can't think of anything 1.0 POSITIVE 1.0 POSITIVE 1.0 APPROVE 1.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.0 4.0 0.0 610241 Open Keep up the good work 0.0 [] REGULAR No Yes 1.0 Mar 29th, 2018 05:52AM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe
nasdaq:meet https://www.glassdoor.com?employer_id=918739 Sep 19th, 2016 12:00AM Open Open if(we) San Francisco, CA Culturally amazing People keep it real here, quite transparent and a stress-free work environment. Teams sit pretty close with one another so communication is key. Executive team is open and provides good feedback. Sometimes can be frustrating when products don't respond as well as intended. Almost everything about the company is great except for the product itself. It's hard to anticipate anything great in the future. 1.0 POSITIVE 0.0 NEUTRAL 1.0 APPROVE 0.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.0 5.0 4.0 0.0 918739 Open Perhaps push more aggressively towards new ideas and opportunities as they don't come along often. Continue hiring people, a few departments are lacking in resources. 0.0 [] REGULAR No Yes 0.0 Jul 20th, 2019 03:59PM Jun 26th, 2021 07:07PM MeetMe

Request a demo to view additional historical data, and much more.

Make fast
queries

No longer rely on engineers to access data; build and share queries with intuitive tools, and derive insights in real time.

Bookmark queries with your team

Save and share custom queries using a private bookmarking feature, accessible to your whole team.

Be first to know with alerts

Scan data points across millions of companies and receive emails when relevant metrics cross critical thresholds.

Visualize data for quick insights

Create custom keyword-based word clouds, charts, and advanced visualizations to quickly analyze the data.

Map competitor locations

Analyze competitor presence and growth over time by overlaying store locations with the Nearby Competitor feature.

Add widgets to your dashboards

Access existing maps, charts, word clouds, and other visualizations to understand your data quickly. Or build custom widgets to view data just the way you want it.